Registrations have closed.
An Epic Journey: The Great Migration of the Dorado Catfish

An Epic Journey: The Great Migration of the Dorado Catfish

186 186 people viewed this event.

Save the Date for this free World Fish Migration Day event, hosted by The Nature Conservancy!

REGISTER AT THE EVENTBRITE HYPERLINK HERE: The Epic Journey of the Golden Catfish Registration, Thu, May 19, 2022 at 10:00 AM | Eventbrite

May 19, 2022

Los Angeles, CA, USA 8:00 – 9:30 am
Bogota, Colombia 10:00 – 11:30 am
Mexico City, Mexico 10:00 – 11:30 am
New York, New York, USA 11:00 am -12:30 pm
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 12:00 -1:30 pm
Lisbon, Portugal 4:00 – 5:30 pm
Nairobi, Kenya 6 :00 – 7:30 pm

At the time of the event, join the Zoom Meeting at the link below:

https://tnc.zoom.us/j/92795578545

Meeting ID: 927 9557 8545

Este evento abordará la importancia del bagre dorado y sus conexiones a lo largo de la cuenca amazónica.

The Nature Conservancy (TNC) organiza este evento en el marco del Día Mundial de la Migración de Peces 2022. En este evento se hablará del épico viaje del bagre dorado como un símbolo de la conectividad de la cuenca amazónica, su biodiversidad y las comunidades.

Durante el evento presentaremos el tráiler del documental UN VIAJE EPICO: Migración del bagre dorado y sus conexiones a lo largo de la cuenca amazónica. Este documental sigue la migración del bagre dorado a lo largo de los ríos amazónicos y resalta su relación con el río, las comunidades, los bosques; producto que nos ayudará a transmitir la importancia de los ríos libres y el mensaje urgente de la conservación de agua dulce en el Amazonas. El tráiler dará inicio a nuestra conferencia con expertos de agua dulce y sus peces de tres países y una lideresa de la comunidad Sinangoe.

La conferencia será en español con traducción simultánea al inglés y cuenta con los siguientes panelistas:

Silvia Benítez, Gerente de Agua para América Latina TNC – Moderadora
Paulo Petry, Científico Senior de agua TNC América Latina – Experto regional
Ronaldo Barthem, Científico en Ecología y Pesca – Experto Brasil
Silvia López, PhD en Biología y Ecología de Ecosistemas acuáticos de agua dulce – Experta Colombia
Carlos Rodríguez, Director de la Fundación Tropenbos – experto Colombia
Alexandra Narváez, Lideresa de la comunidad de Sinangoe, Ecuador
——————————————————–

English Translation:

Summary: This event will highlight the significance of the Golden Catfish and its connections along the Amazon basin.

About this event:

The Nature Conservancy (TNC) is organizing this event as part of World Fish Migration Day 2022. This event will discuss the epic journey of the golden catfish as a symbol of the connectivity of the Amazon basin, its biodiversity, and communities.

During the event we will present the trailer of the documentary film AN EPIC JOURNEY: Migration of the golden catfish and its connections throughout the Amazon Basin. This documentary follows the migration of the golden catfish along the Amazon rivers and highlights its relationship with the river, the communities, the forests, etc. This product will help us to call the attention on the importance of free rivers and the urgent message of freshwater conservation in the Amazon. The trailer will kick off our conference with freshwater and fish experts from three countries and a Sinangoe community leader.

The conference will be in Spanish with simultaneous translation into English and features the following panelists:

Silvia Benítez, Water Manager TNC Latin America – Moderator
Paulo Petry, Senior Scientist – TNC LAtin America
Ronaldo Barthem, Brazilian Scientist
Silvia López, Freshwater Expert Colombia
Carlos Rodríguez, Director of Tropenbos Foundation Colombia
Alexandra Narváez, Sinangoe community leader

 

Additional Details

Online Event - Yes

Country - Colombia

Name of contact person - Mary Pleasent

 

Date And Time

2022-05-19 @ 15:00 (GMT+0000) to
2022-05-19 @ 16:30 (GMT+0000)
 

Event Types

Share With Friends